NeuroscienceNarrow moat

AbbVie (ABBV) — moat facet

Neuroscience, mostly bought with Allergan, is AbbVie's fastest-growing business, and two of its largest drugs get government prices by 2028.

Neuroscience is AbbVie's second-largest and fastest-growing line. It sold $10,767 million in 202512 and $3,228 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 20.3%3. Management assumed about $12.5 billion for 20264.

Neuroscience net revenues ($M)6,52820227,71720238,999202410,7672025AbbVie Forms 10-K; product groups calculated
Growing every year.

What is inside is a set of drugs for the brain and nerves. Botox Therapeutic, used for chronic migraine, spasticity and bladder conditions, sold $3,769 million in 2025; Vraylar, for schizophrenia and bipolar disorder, $3,621 million; the migraine drugs Ubrelvy and Qulipta $1,271 million and $1,036 million; Vyalev, for advanced Parkinson's disease, $482 million; and Duodopa and other products the remainder5.

The history is mostly Allergan's. Botox, Vraylar and the migraine drugs came with the 2020 acquisition6. The line sold $6,528 million in 2022 and $7,717 million in 20237, growing every year since, and Botox Therapeutic passed $1 billion in a single quarter in early 20268.

How it is paid varies. Botox is administered by physicians and paid largely through medical benefits, including Medicare; the pills are paid through pharmacy benefits after rebates.

Profitability is not disclosed separately9.

Growth has been steady and broad. In the second quarter of 2026 Vraylar sold $1,071 million, Botox Therapeutic $1,042 million, Ubrelvy $392 million, Qulipta $350 million and Vyalev $256 million10.

The outlook has two government price dates in it. Vraylar's Medicare price begins in 2027 and Botox's in 202811. Generic makers are also challenging the migraine drugs' patents12. Against that, Vyalev is ramping and the Gilgamesh acquisition added a psychiatric drug in development13.

The 2026 assumptions show which drugs are expected to lead. Management assumed Vraylar at about $4 billion, Botox Therapeutic at $4.1 billion, the oral migraine drugs at $2.9 billion and Vyalev at about $1 billion14. Vyalev is the newest: it sold $99 million in 2024 and $482 million in 202515. Duodopa, an older Parkinson's therapy, sold $381 million in 2025 and is gradually being replaced by it16.

This line is the most successful part of the Allergan purchase. The verdict would change if growth fell below 5% after the Vraylar price takes effect in 2027, which would mean government pricing had stopped the second engine.

Moat trajectory: Widening

Grew 20.3% in Q2 2026.

The number that tests this moat
Moat Explorer calc
Neuroscience revenue growth, full year
+19.6% to $10,767M (2025)

The second engine; growth below 5% after Vraylar's 2027 government price would mean it has stalled.

How it's calculated: Neuroscience net revenues in 2025 divided by 2024 (10,767 / 8,999), from AbbVie's FY2025 10-K product table.
Source: Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie filings ↗
References
  1. ReportedIt sold $10,767 million in 2025 and $3,228 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 20.3%.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  2. Moat Explorer calcIt sold $10,767 million in 2025 and $3,228 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 20.3%.
    Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  3. ReportedIt sold $10,767 million in 2025 and $3,228 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 20.3%.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  4. ReportedManagement assumed about $12.5 billion for 2026.
    The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
  5. ReportedBotox Therapeutic, used for chronic migraine, spasticity and bladder conditions, sold $3,769 million in 2025; Vraylar, for schizophrenia and bipolar disorder, $3,621 million; the migraine drugs Ubrelvy and Qulipta $1,271 million and $1,036 million; Vyalev, for advanced Parkinson's disease, $482 million; and Duodopa and other products the remainder.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  6. ReportedBotox, Vraylar and the migraine drugs came with the 2020 acquisition.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2020 - the Allergan acquisition and its total consideration. — FY2020 · publ. February 2021 · source ↗
  7. Moat Explorer calcThe line sold $6,528 million in 2022 and $7,717 million in 2023, growing every year since, and Botox Therapeutic passed $1 billion in a single quarter in early 2026.
    Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
  8. ReportedThe line sold $6,528 million in 2022 and $7,717 million in 2023, growing every year since, and Botox Therapeutic passed $1 billion in a single quarter in early 2026.
    Quartz, AbbVie first-quarter 2026 results: global Botox Therapeutic sales passed $1 billion in a quarter for the first time. — Q1 2026 · publ. 29 April 2026 · source ↗
  9. ReportedProfitability is not disclosed separately.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  10. ReportedIn the second quarter of 2026 Vraylar sold $1,071 million, Botox Therapeutic $1,042 million, Ubrelvy $392 million, Qulipta $350 million and Vyalev $256 million.
    AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
  11. ReportedVraylar's Medicare price begins in 2027 and Botox's in 2028.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1A risk factors, patents and exclusivity, government pricing and legal proceedings. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  12. ReportedGeneric makers are also challenging the migraine drugs' patents.
    AbbVie Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 - product revenue, the balance sheet, cash flow and the Apogee agreement. — Q2 2026 · publ. 3 August 2026 · source ↗
  13. ReportedAgainst that, Vyalev is ramping and the Gilgamesh acquisition added a psychiatric drug in development.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - financial statements and notes: earnings, cash flow, balance sheet, acquisitions and contingent consideration. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  14. ReportedManagement assumed Vraylar at about $4 billion, Botox Therapeutic at $4.1 billion, the oral migraine drugs at $2.9 billion and Vyalev at about $1 billion.
    The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
  15. ReportedVyalev is the newest: it sold $99 million in 2024 and $482 million in 2025.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
  16. ReportedDuodopa, an older Parkinson's therapy, sold $381 million in 2025 and is gradually being replaced by it.
    AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 25, 2026