AestheticsNarrow moat
AbbVie (ABBV) — moat facet
AbbVie's cosmetics business has shrunk every year since 2022, because it sells to consumers who pay themselves and rivals who compete on price.
Aesthetics is the consumer business AbbVie bought with Allergan. It sold $4,860 million in 202512 and $1,282 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 0.3%3. Management assumed about $5 billion for 20264.
What is inside is Botox Cosmetic, which sold $2,602 million in 2025; the Juvederm collection of hyaluronic acid fillers, $993 million; and other aesthetics products, including body contouring and skincare, $1,265 million5.
The history is decline. The line sold $5,333 million in 2022, $5,294 million in 2023 and $5,176 million in 20246, falling every year to 2025. Juvederm fell from $1,428 million in 20227 to $993 million in 20258.
How it is paid is unlike the rest of AbbVie: patients pay clinics out of pocket, and clinics buy from AbbVie. Demand therefore follows consumer confidence, and competitors can win share with price. AbbVie attributed the 11% fall in American Botox Cosmetic sales in 2025 to unfavourable pricing from loyalty programme changes, lower market share and decreased consumer demand9.
Profitability is not disclosed separately10.
Growth has stalled, and the business is concentrated: management said the United States and China are the vast majority of it11.
The outlook depends on new products. AbbVie received approvals in 2026 for Skinvive for neck lines and for a new toxin, Boey, in the European Union and Canada12.
Management expected little change in 2026: Botox Cosmetic at about $2.7 billion and Juvederm at $950 million13. Botox Cosmetic's split between the United States and the rest of the world, $1,504 million and $1,098 million in 202514, shows how much of the business depends on American consumers, where the 2025 decline was concentrated.
This line is the weakest part of the Allergan purchase. The verdict would change if aesthetics returned to growth of more than 5% in a year, which would say the brand's troubles were cyclical rather than competitive.
Down each year 2022-2025; flat in Q2 2026.
The consumer franchise; growth above 5% would say its decline was cyclical.
- ReportedIt sold $4,860 million in 2025 and $1,282 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 0.3%.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcIt sold $4,860 million in 2025 and $1,282 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 0.3%.Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedIt sold $4,860 million in 2025 and $1,282 million in the second quarter of 2026, up 0.3%.AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedManagement assumed about $5 billion for 2026.The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedWhat is inside is Botox Cosmetic, which sold $2,602 million in 2025; the Juvederm collection of hyaluronic acid fillers, $993 million; and other aesthetics products, including body contouring and skincare, $1,265 million.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcThe line sold $5,333 million in 2022, $5,294 million in 2023 and $5,176 million in 2024, falling every year to 2025.Moat Explorer calculation from AbbVie's reported product revenue and financial statements ($ millions unless stated). Therapeutic areas 2025: immunology 17,562 + 8,304 + 4,540 = 30,406; neuroscience 3,621 + 3,769 + 1,271 + 1,036 + 482 + 381 + 207 = 10,767; oncology 2,869 + 2,792 + 690 + 271 + 33 = 6,655; aesthetics 2,602 + 993 + 1,265 = 4,860; eye care 493 + 410 + 197 + 1,009 = 2,109; other key products 1,317 + 1,512 + 907 = 3,736; all other 2,627; eye care and other products 2,109 + 3,736 + 2,627 = 8,472; total 61,160. 2024: immunology 11,718 + 5,971 + 8,993 = 26,682; neuroscience 8,999; oncology 6,555; aesthetics 5,176; eye care and other 2,242 + 3,648 + 3,032 = 8,922. 2023: 7,763 + 3,969 + 14,404 = 26,136; neuroscience 7,717; oncology 5,915; aesthetics 5,294; eye care and other 2,415 + 3,806 + 3,035 = 9,256. 2022: 5,165 + 2,522 + 21,237 = 28,924; neuroscience 6,528; oncology 6,577; aesthetics 5,333; eye care and other 2,701 + 3,854 + 4,137 = 10,692. Growth 2025: immunology 30,406 / 26,682 - 1 = 14.0%; neuroscience 10,767 / 8,999 - 1 = 19.6%. Immunology and neuroscience 30,406 + 10,767 = 41,173, 41,173 / 61,160 = 67.3%. Immunology share 30,406 / 61,160 = 49.7%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq: 5,165 + 2,522 = 7,687 (2022); 7,763 + 3,969 = 11,732 (2023); 11,718 + 5,971 = 17,689 (2024); 17,562 + 8,304 = 25,866 (2025); H1 2026 9,988 + 4,644 = 14,632; Q2 2026 5,505 + 2,525 = 8,030, 8,030 / 16,990 = 47.3%; 2026 plan 21.5 + 10.1 = 31.6 bn. Shares of revenue 7,687 / 58,054 = 13.2%; 11,732 / 54,318 = 21.6%; 17,689 / 56,334 = 31.4%; 25,866 / 61,160 = 42.3%. Humira: 4,540 / 21,237 - 1 = -78.6%; share 8,993 / 56,334 = 16.0% (2024), 4,540 / 61,160 = 7.4% (2025). Rebates: 65.1 / 61.16 = 1.06; 65.1 / 18.8 = 3.5 times (2019-2025) against net revenues 61,160 / 33,266 = 1.8 times; gross sales 61.2 + 65.1 = 126.3 bn, 126.3 / 61.2 = 2.1 times; managed care 22,307 / 61,160 = 36.5%; Medicaid and Medicare 21,283 / 61,160 = 34.8%; payers 22,307 + 21,283 = 43,590, 43,590 / 61,160 = 71.3%. Geography: US 46,603 / 61,160 = 76.2%; international 14,557 / 61,160 = 23.8%. Gross margin 2025 (61,160 - 18,204) / 61,160 = 70.2%. Government-set price products, 2025 sales: 2,869 + 3,621 + 907 + 3,769 = 11,166, 11,166 / 61,160 = 18.3%. Goodwill and intangibles 35,640 + 52,641 = 88,281, 88,281 / 133,960 = 65.9%. Eye care share 2,109 / 61,160 = 3.4%; aesthetics share 4,860 / 61,160 = 7.9%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 62,481 + 8,341 - 6,569 = 64,253; net debt / operating cash flow 64,253 / 19,030 = 3.4 years. Free cash flow 2025: 19,030 - 1,214 = 17,816; dividends paid 11,657 / 17,816 = 65.4%; operating cash flow / dividends 19,030 / 11,657 = 1.6; dividends declared / net earnings 11,819 / 4,226 = 2.8; dividends per share 6.65 / 1.75 = 3.8 times (2014-2025). Free cash flow yield 17,816 / 468,500 = 3.8%; free cash flow per share 17,816 / 1,771 = 10.06. 2026 adjusted EPS guidance midpoints: (14.37 + 14.57) / 2 = 14.47; (13.96 + 14.16) / 2 = 14.06; (14.08 + 14.28) / 2 = 14.18; (13.91 + 14.11) / 2 = 14.01; (13.87 + 14.07) / 2 = 13.97. Ubrelvy and Qulipta Q2 2026 392 + 350 = 742; 2025 1,271 + 1,036 = 2,307. Skyrizi share 17,562 / 61,160 = 28.7%. Juvederm 993 / 1,428 - 1 = -30.5%. Aesthetics 4,860 / 5,176 - 1 = -6.1%. Gross margin 2023 (54,318 - 20,415) / 54,318 = 62.4%. Skyrizi + Rinvoq 2021 2,939 + 1,651 = 4,590; 2022 7,687 / 21,237 = 36% - therapeutic-area totals, growth and rebates. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in AbbVie's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Q4 2025 call and market data; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedJuvederm fell from $1,428 million in 2022 to $993 million in 2025.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2024 - product revenue for 2022-2024, product concentration, the CEO succession and the emraclidine impairment. — FY2024 · publ. February 2025 · source ↗
- ReportedJuvederm fell from $1,428 million in 2022 to $993 million in 2025.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedAbbVie attributed the 11% fall in American Botox Cosmetic sales in 2025 to unfavourable pricing from loyalty programme changes, lower market share and decreased consumer demand.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedProfitability is not disclosed separately.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: products, customers, competition and research. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedGrowth has stalled, and the business is concentrated: management said the United States and China are the vast majority of it.The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedAbbVie received approvals in 2026 for Skinvive for neck lines and for a new toxin, Boey, in the European Union and Canada.AbbVie second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1. — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedManagement expected little change in 2026: Botox Cosmetic at about $2.7 billion and Juvederm at $950 million.The Motley Fool, AbbVie Q4 2025 earnings call transcript - 2026 revenue assumptions by product and management's comments on share and competitors. — Q4 2025 · publ. 4 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedBotox Cosmetic's split between the United States and the rest of the world, $1,504 million and $1,098 million in 2025, shows how much of the business depends on American consumers, where the 2025 decline was concentrated.AbbVie Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenues by product and region, and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 20 February 2026 · source ↗