Payment NetworkWide moat
Mastercard (MA) — moat facet
Mastercard's network keeps $19.5 billion a year after handing $20.5 billion back to the banks that choose it.
The payment network is what most people think Mastercard is, and it is the smaller half by growth and the larger by size. Net revenue from the payment network was $19,476 million in 2025, up 12%1, 59.4% of the company2. It is also the line from which almost all the rebates are taken: $20,522 million in 20253.
What is inside the line is four kinds of assessment, net of rebates. In 2025 domestic assessments were $11,029 million, cross-border assessments $12,021 million, transaction processing assessments $15,930 million and other network assessments $1,018 million4, a gross total of $39,998 million5. Domestic and cross-border assessments are charged on dollar volume on cards carrying Mastercard's brands; transaction processing fees are charged for switching, authorising, clearing and settling each transaction6. Mastercard notes that assessments do not represent its net revenue7, because the rebates come off first.
The history is steady growth with one exception. Payment network net revenue was $9,897 million in 2020, $11,943 million in 2021, $14,358 million in 2022, $15,824 million in 2023 and $17,335 million in 202489, roughly doubling in five years10. The exception was 2020 itself, when cross-border volume fees fell about 37% as travel stopped1112. Growth has slowed as the pandemic recovery faded: 21% in 2021, 20% in 2022, 10% in 2023 and 2024, 12% in 202513.
How it is paid explains why growth depends on the rebates. Banks choose the network and receive incentives for doing so, and in 2025 the rebates were 51.3% of gross payment network assessments, up from 46.4% in 202214. Rebates grew 16% in 2025, primarily due to growth in the key drivers and new and renewed deals15. When a large portfolio is renewed, the price of keeping it usually rises.
Profitability is not disclosed separately, because Mastercard reports one operating segment16. The company-wide operating margin was 57.6% in 202517. Any split would be an estimate, and none is attempted here.
The most recent quarter shows the tension clearly. In the second quarter of 2026 payment network net revenue grew 10% to $5,451 million while rebates grew 22% to $5,997 million18, so gross assessments grew roughly 16%19 and more of the increase went to the banks. Gross dollar volume grew 8% in local currency and switched transactions 9%20, which means volume is still growing at a healthy pace; the network is simply keeping less of each dollar.
The outlook depends on three things. Cross-border travel, which drove the line's recovery and is its most profitable part; the rebate negotiations, where Mastercard showed discipline in declining the Lloyds credit portfolio21; and the spread of routing rules and public rails that take domestic transactions away from cards.
A line whose volume grows 8% a year and whose net revenue grows 10% is still a very good business. The verdict would change if net revenue per dollar of volume started falling for a full year, which would mean the rebates had overtaken pricing.
Grew 12% in 2025 and 10% in Q2 2026; rebates grew faster.
The network's kept revenue; growth below gross dollar volume growth for a year would say rebates overtook pricing.
Source: Mastercard Form 10-Q, Q2 2026 ↗- ReportedNet revenue from the payment network was $19,476 million in 2025, up 12%, 59.4% of the company.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcNet revenue from the payment network was $19,476 million in 2025, up 12%, 59.4% of the company.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedIt is also the line from which almost all the rebates are taken: $20,522 million in 2025.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: key metrics, assessments and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedIn 2025 domestic assessments were $11,029 million, cross-border assessments $12,021 million, transaction processing assessments $15,930 million and other network assessments $1,018 million, a gross total of $39,998 million.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: key metrics, assessments and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcIn 2025 domestic assessments were $11,029 million, cross-border assessments $12,021 million, transaction processing assessments $15,930 million and other network assessments $1,018 million, a gross total of $39,998 million.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedDomestic and cross-border assessments are charged on dollar volume on cards carrying Mastercard's brands; transaction processing fees are charged for switching, authorising, clearing and settling each transaction.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: key metrics, assessments and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedMastercard notes that assessments do not represent its net revenue, because the rebates come off first.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: key metrics, assessments and rebates. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedPayment network net revenue was $9,897 million in 2020, $11,943 million in 2021, $14,358 million in 2022, $15,824 million in 2023 and $17,335 million in 2024, roughly doubling in five years.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2022 - key metrics and rebates for 2020-2022, the Ekata and Dynamic Yield acquisitions and the five largest customers. — FY2022 · publ. February 2023 · source ↗
- ReportedPayment network net revenue was $9,897 million in 2020, $11,943 million in 2021, $14,358 million in 2022, $15,824 million in 2023 and $17,335 million in 2024, roughly doubling in five years.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcPayment network net revenue was $9,897 million in 2020, $11,943 million in 2021, $14,358 million in 2022, $15,824 million in 2023 and $17,335 million in 2024, roughly doubling in five years.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedThe exception was 2020 itself, when cross-border volume fees fell about 37% as travel stopped.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2020 - gross revenue and rebates for 2018-2020, the 2020 decline, the Finicity acquisition and the European Commission fine. — FY2020 · publ. February 2021 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcThe exception was 2020 itself, when cross-border volume fees fell about 37% as travel stopped.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- Moat Explorer calcGrowth has slowed as the pandemic recovery faded: 21% in 2021, 20% in 2022, 10% in 2023 and 2024, 12% in 2025.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- Moat Explorer calcBanks choose the network and receive incentives for doing so, and in 2025 the rebates were 51.3% of gross payment network assessments, up from 46.4% in 2022.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedRebates grew 16% in 2025, primarily due to growth in the key drivers and new and renewed deals.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedProfitability is not disclosed separately, because Mastercard reports one operating segment.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedThe company-wide operating margin was 57.6% in 2025.Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedIn the second quarter of 2026 payment network net revenue grew 10% to $5,451 million while rebates grew 22% to $5,997 million, so gross assessments grew roughly 16% and more of the increase went to the banks.Mastercard Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 - net revenue by category, rebates, litigation and the BVNK acquisition. — Q2 2026 · publ. 30 July 2026 · source ↗
- Moat Explorer calcIn the second quarter of 2026 payment network net revenue grew 10% to $5,451 million while rebates grew 22% to $5,997 million, so gross assessments grew roughly 16% and more of the increase went to the banks.Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
- ReportedGross dollar volume grew 8% in local currency and switched transactions 9%, which means volume is still growing at a healthy pace; the network is simply keeping less of each dollar.Mastercard second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - statements, cash flow, balance sheet and operating metrics by region. — Q2 2026 · publ. 30 July 2026 · source ↗
- ReportedCross-border travel, which drove the line's recovery and is its most profitable part; the rebate negotiations, where Mastercard showed discipline in declining the Lloyds credit portfolio; and the spread of routing rules and public rails that take domestic transactions away from cards.Yahoo Finance / GuruFocus, Mastercard Q2 2026 earnings call highlights (third-party summary of the call). — Q2 2026 · publ. 31 July 2026 · source ↗