Services: The Business That Does Not Pay RebatesNarrow moat

Mastercard (MA) — moat facet

Mastercard's services grow twice as fast as its network and carry none of the network's rebates, but the company does not say how profitable they are.

If the network is Mastercard's moat, services are what it builds inside the moat. Value-added services and solutions produced $13,315 million of net revenue in 2025, up 23%, against $19,476 million from the payment network, up 12%1. By the second quarter of 2026 services were 41.2% of net revenue2, up from 35.3% in 20203.

Services share of net revenue (%)35.3202036.8202135.4202237.0202338.5202440.6202541.2Q2 2026Mastercard Forms 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q, calculated
The second engine keeps gaining share.

The distinction matters because of the rebates. The payment network is fought over with incentives that now exceed half of its gross assessments4. Services are sold to the same banks and merchants, but priced on their own merits: fraud scoring, authentication, loyalty programmes, data analytics, consulting, open banking and cyber security.

The advantage is real where the service uses the network's data. Fraud tools trained on 175.5 billion transactions a year5 are hard to match. It is thinner where Mastercard has bought its way in, as with Recorded Future for $2.7 billion6, and where the service competes with specialists on their home ground.

There is one gap in what investors can see. Mastercard reports a single operating segment7, so it does not disclose the profitability of services separately from the network. The company-wide operating margin rose to 57.6% in 20258 and 60.2% in the second quarter of 20269 while services grew as a share, which suggests they are not dilutive; it does not prove they are as profitable as the network.

The services line also has a backlog, which the network does not disclose. At the end of 2025 Mastercard had $2.0 billion of unsatisfied performance obligations on value-added services, expected to be recognised through 203010, and deferred revenue primarily relates to value-added services11. That is small against $13,315 million of annual services revenue12, which says most services are sold and consumed within the year, often attached to transactions. They are recurring in practice rather than contracted far ahead.

Call it a narrow advantage that is widening. The number that tests it is services growth against network growth: 20% against 10% in the second quarter of 202613. When the gap closes, the second engine will have become the first engine's shadow.

Moat trajectory: Widening

Services rose from 35% of net revenue in 2020 to 41% in Q2 2026.

The number that tests this moat
Moat Explorer calc
Services share of net revenue, latest quarter
41.2% (Q2 2026); 35.3% in 2020

The shift toward the business without rebates; a share that stops rising would mean services only ride the network.

How it's calculated: Value-added services and solutions net revenue divided by total net revenue, from Mastercard's 10-K and Q2 2026 10-Q.
Source: Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard filings ↗
Aspects of the moat
⚠ Threats to the moat
References
  1. ReportedValue-added services and solutions produced $13,315 million of net revenue in 2025, up 23%, against $19,476 million from the payment network, up 12%.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  2. Moat Explorer calcBy the second quarter of 2026 services were 41.2% of net revenue, up from 35.3% in 2020.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - revenue mix, margins, geography and competitors. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
  3. Moat Explorer calcBy the second quarter of 2026 services were 41.2% of net revenue, up from 35.3% in 2020.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - revenue mix, margins, geography and competitors. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
  4. Moat Explorer calcThe payment network is fought over with incentives that now exceed half of its gross assessments.
    Moat Explorer calculation from Mastercard's reported figures ($ millions unless stated). Gross payment network assessments 2025: 11,029 + 12,021 + 15,930 + 1,018 = 39,998; rebates 20,522 / 39,998 = 51.3%; 2024: 10,245 + 10,181 + 13,602 + 936 = 34,964, 17,629 / 34,964 = 50.4%; 2023: 15,182 / (15,824 + 15,182) = 49.0%; 2022: 8,794 + 6,597 + 10,646 + 766 = 26,803, 12,445 / 26,803 = 46.4%; 2021: 10,476 / (11,943 + 10,476) = 46.7%. Q2 2026: 5,997 / (5,451 + 5,997) = 52.4%; gross assessments growth (5,451 + 5,997) / (4,945 + 5,997 / 1.22) - 1 = about 16%. Old basis: 3,980 / 13,647 = 29.2% (2015); 8,315 / 23,616 = 35.2% (2020). Rebates 20,522 / 3,980 = 5.2 times; net revenue 32,791 / 9,667 = 3.4 times. Rebates against gross revenue 2025: 20,522 / (32,791 + 20,522 = 53,313) = 38.5%; Visa 15,751 / (40,000 + 15,751 = 55,751) = 28.3%; difference 20,522 - 15,751 = 4,771. US share: 2,958 / (2,958 + 7,028) = 29.6%; four networks 2,958 / 11,463 = 25.8%; Amex and Discover 11,463 - 9,986 = 1,477, 1,477 / 11,463 = 12.9%. Outside the US 100% - 29% = 71%. Cross-border assessments 12,021 / 3,498 = 3.4 times; cross-border volume fees 3,512 / 5,606 - 1 = -37.4%; 12,021 x 0.37 = 4,448. Services share of net revenue: 5,404 / 15,301 = 35.3% (2020); 6,941 / 18,884 = 36.8%; 7,879 / 22,237 = 35.4%; 9,274 / 25,098 = 37.0%; 10,832 / 28,167 = 38.5%; 13,315 / 32,791 = 40.6% (2025); 3,826 / 9,277 = 41.2% (Q2 2026); payment network 19,476 / 32,791 = 59.4%. Growth: payment network 11,943 / 9,897 - 1 = 21%, 14,358 / 11,943 - 1 = 20%, 15,824 / 14,358 - 1 = 10%, 17,335 / 15,824 - 1 = 10%, 19,476 / 17,335 - 1 = 12%; 19,476 / 9,897 = 2.0 times; services 7,879 / 6,941 - 1 = 14% (2022), 13,315 / 5,404 = 2.5 times; growth gap Q2 2026 20% - 10% = 10 points; acquisitions 3 / 23 = 13%. Operating margin: 5,078 / 9,667 = 52.5% (2015); 6,622 / 12,497 = 53.0% (2017); 7,282 / 14,950 = 48.7% (2018); 9,664 / 16,883 = 57.2% (2019); 8,081 / 15,301 = 52.8% (2020); 12,264 / 22,237 = 55.2% (2022). Headcount 39,800 / 13,400 = 3.0 times; net revenue 32,791 / 12,497 = 2.6 times (2017-2025). Capital spending 489 + 726 = 1,215; 1,215 / 32,791 = 3.7%; free cash flow 17,648 - 1,215 = 16,433; returned 11,727 + 2,756 = 14,483, 14,483 / 16,433 = 88%. Net debt 30 June 2026: 2,459 + 22,184 - 11,291 = 13,352. Diluted shares 906 / 1,137 - 1 = -20.3%; EPS 16.52 / 3.35 = 4.9 times, (16.52 / 3.35)^(1/10) - 1 = 17.3% a year; net income 14,968 / 3,808 = 3.9 times; net revenue (32,791 / 9,667)^(1/10) - 1 = 13.0% a year. Year-end P/E (market value over net income): 109.31 / 3.808 = 28.7 (2015); 160.24 / 3.915 = 40.9 (2017); 301.24 / 8.118 = 37.1 (2019); 353.05 / 8.687 = 40.6 (2021); 334.33 / 9.930 = 33.7 (2022); 483.30 / 12.874 = 37.5 (2024); 512.65 / 14.968 = 34.2 (2025); earnings yield 1 / 31.13 = 3.2%. Litigation provision against net income: 504 / 14,968 = 3.4%; 539 / 11,195 = 4.8%; 680 / 12,874 = 5.3%. Tax: pre-tax income 2025 14,968 + 3,610 = 18,578; (19.4% - 15.6%) x 18,578 = about 706. Amortised incentives 2,098 / 19,476 = 10.8%. Five-customer net revenue 6.9 bn. BVNK 1,500 / 11,727 = 13% of 2025 buybacks; acquisitions since 2020 809 + 861 + 325 + 2,700 + 1,500 = 6,195, 1,500 / 6,195 = 24%. Recorded Future 2,700 / 14,968 = 18%. Commercial gross dollar volume 1,405 / 10,632 = 13.2%. Property, equipment and right-of-use assets 1,168 + 1,135 = 2,303 - rebates, assessments and growth. — 2015-2026 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
    Method: Arithmetic on figures reported in Mastercard's Forms 10-K, 10-Q, results releases, the Visa 10-K and the Nilson Report; operands shown in the source line.
  5. ReportedFraud tools trained on 175.5 billion transactions a year are hard to match.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: net revenue by category, key metrics, rebates, geography and the five largest customers. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  6. ReportedIt is thinner where Mastercard has bought its way in, as with Recorded Future for $2.7 billion, and where the service competes with specialists on their home ground.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 1 business: the network, competition, tokenization, account-based payments and human capital. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  7. ReportedMastercard reports a single operating segment, so it does not disclose the profitability of services separately from the network.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  8. ReportedThe company-wide operating margin rose to 57.6% in 2025 and 60.2% in the second quarter of 2026 while services grew as a share, which suggests they are not dilutive; it does not prove they are as profitable as the network.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  9. ReportedThe company-wide operating margin rose to 57.6% in 2025 and 60.2% in the second quarter of 2026 while services grew as a share, which suggests they are not dilutive; it does not prove they are as profitable as the network.
    Mastercard second-quarter 2026 results release, Form 8-K exhibit 99.1 - statements, cash flow, balance sheet and operating metrics by region. — Q2 2026 · publ. 30 July 2026 · source ↗
  10. ReportedAt the end of 2025 Mastercard had $2.0 billion of unsatisfied performance obligations on value-added services, expected to be recognised through 2030, and deferred revenue primarily relates to value-added services.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  11. ReportedAt the end of 2025 Mastercard had $2.0 billion of unsatisfied performance obligations on value-added services, expected to be recognised through 2030, and deferred revenue primarily relates to value-added services.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  12. ReportedThat is small against $13,315 million of annual services revenue, which says most services are sold and consumed within the year, often attached to transactions.
    Mastercard Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 - Item 7 MD&A: value-added services and solutions. — FY2025 · publ. 11 February 2026 · source ↗
  13. ReportedThe number that tests it is services growth against network growth: 20% against 10% in the second quarter of 2026.
    Mastercard Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026 - net revenue by category, rebates, litigation and the BVNK acquisition. — Q2 2026 · publ. 30 July 2026 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 25, 2026