⚠ Nothing to Fall Back OnHigh threat

SK hynix (SKHY) — threat to the moat

No backlog means no grace period: the downturn shows up in revenue the quarter it starts, completely.

The absence of an order book is a wonderful thing on the way up and a defenceless one on the way down.

2023, the year with no cushion, ₩ trillion₩32.8TRevenue₩33.3TCost of sales-₩0.5TGross result-₩9.1TNet lossNo contracted volume to work through, no agreed price to expire. It arrived at once.
A company with a backlog gets a period of grace. This one does not.

A company with contracted revenue enters a downturn with a period of grace: volumes already committed keep the fabs running while management decides what to do. SK hynix has no such period. Its report is explicit that volumes and prices are set monthly and quarterly with no backlog based on long-term supply contracts1, which means a change in the price of memory becomes a change in revenue immediately and completely.

The 2023 figures are what that looks like at full strength. Revenue of ₩32,766 billion against cost of sales of ₩33,299 billion — the product was sold for less than it cost to make, before any research or overhead — producing a loss for the year of ₩9,138 billion2.

Two things make a repeat less severe than that one. The balance sheet is unrecognisable: ₩87,958 billion of cash and equivalents against ₩18,587 billion of borrowings3, where previously a downturn forced capital spending cuts at exactly the wrong moment. And a larger share of output is now high-bandwidth memory built to customer-specific designs, which reprices less violently than a commodity part.

The falsifier is gross margin. It went from 60.4% in 2025 to 79.3% in the first quarter of 20264; the year it goes negative is the year the argument for owning this changes entirely.

References
  1. ReportedVolumes and prices are set monthly and quarterly with no backlog based on long-term supply contracts.
    SK hynix Inc., semi-annual business report for the six months to 30 June 2026 (SEC Form 6-K, 18 August 2026) — 'The Company determines supply volumes and prices on a monthly and quarterly basis by mutual agreement with major customers, and there is no order backlog based on long term supply contracts.' Total equity W 262,693,228 million at 30 June 2026 against W 120,666,751 million at 31 December 2025; cash and cash equivalents, short-term financial instruments and short-term investment assets W 87,957,923 million against W 34,942,253 million; total borrowings W 18,586,634 million against W 22,247,905 million; debt-to-equity 32.80%, net borrowing ratio not disclosed because it is negative. For the six months to 30 June 2026, revenues of W 17,608,702 million (13.35%) and W 17,187,421 million (13.03%) were derived from external Customers A and B respectively; for the six months to 30 June 2025, W 10,890,639 million (27.31%) came from Customer A. IDC market share: DRAM 29.9% in 2023, 33.4% in 2024, 34.8% in 2025 and 29.1% in Q1 2026; NAND 19.6%, 21.4%, 20.9% and 18.5%. Gartner's world DRAM market: US$78.7bn in 2022 (-15.4%), US$49.9bn in 2023 (-36.5%), US$91.6bn in 2024 (+82.7%) and US$146.9bn in 2025 (+60.0%). Announced investments include approximately W 15 trillion for M15X in Cheongju, approximately W 19 trillion for the P&T7 advanced packaging plant and W 21,608.1 billion for Yongin, against long-term plans of roughly W 600 trillion for the Yongin cluster and W 100 trillion for Cheongju. The company developed the world's first 321-layer QLC NAND. China's State Administration for Market Regulation cleared the Intel NAND acquisition conditionally, obliging the group to maintain a reasonable pricing policy, increase production and support the entry of third-party competitors into the Chinese eSSD market for five years from December 2021. — six months to 30 June 2026 · publ. 2026-08-18 · source ↗
  2. Reported2023 revenue of ₩32,766bn against cost of sales of ₩33,299bn, producing a loss for the year of ₩9,138bn.
    SK hynix Inc., Form 424B4 prospectus — consolidated income statements and management's discussion (SEC, CIK 2120882). FY2025: revenue W 97,147bn, cost of sales W 38,456bn, gross profit W 58,691bn, selling and administrative expenses W 5,019bn, research and development W 6,466bn, profit for the year W 42,948bn. FY2024: revenue W 66,193bn, gross profit W 31,828bn, R&D W 4,436bn, profit W 19,797bn. FY2023: revenue W 32,766bn, cost of sales W 33,299bn, a gross loss of W 533bn, an operating loss of W 7,730bn and a loss for the year of W 9,138bn, following a fall in memory prices from the third quarter of 2022. Q1 2026: revenue W 52,576bn, cost of sales W 10,897bn, gross profit W 41,679bn, R&D W 2,451bn, profit W 40,346bn. — FY2023-FY2025 and Q1 2026 · publ. 2026-07-10 · source ↗
  3. Reported₩87,957.9bn of cash and equivalents against ₩18,586.6bn of borrowings.
    SK hynix Inc., semi-annual business report for the six months to 30 June 2026 (SEC Form 6-K, 18 August 2026) — 'The Company determines supply volumes and prices on a monthly and quarterly basis by mutual agreement with major customers, and there is no order backlog based on long term supply contracts.' Total equity W 262,693,228 million at 30 June 2026 against W 120,666,751 million at 31 December 2025; cash and cash equivalents, short-term financial instruments and short-term investment assets W 87,957,923 million against W 34,942,253 million; total borrowings W 18,586,634 million against W 22,247,905 million; debt-to-equity 32.80%, net borrowing ratio not disclosed because it is negative. For the six months to 30 June 2026, revenues of W 17,608,702 million (13.35%) and W 17,187,421 million (13.03%) were derived from external Customers A and B respectively; for the six months to 30 June 2025, W 10,890,639 million (27.31%) came from Customer A. IDC market share: DRAM 29.9% in 2023, 33.4% in 2024, 34.8% in 2025 and 29.1% in Q1 2026; NAND 19.6%, 21.4%, 20.9% and 18.5%. Gartner's world DRAM market: US$78.7bn in 2022 (-15.4%), US$49.9bn in 2023 (-36.5%), US$91.6bn in 2024 (+82.7%) and US$146.9bn in 2025 (+60.0%). Announced investments include approximately W 15 trillion for M15X in Cheongju, approximately W 19 trillion for the P&T7 advanced packaging plant and W 21,608.1 billion for Yongin, against long-term plans of roughly W 600 trillion for the Yongin cluster and W 100 trillion for Cheongju. The company developed the world's first 321-layer QLC NAND. China's State Administration for Market Regulation cleared the Intel NAND acquisition conditionally, obliging the group to maintain a reasonable pricing policy, increase production and support the entry of third-party competitors into the Chinese eSSD market for five years from December 2021. — six months to 30 June 2026 · publ. 2026-08-18 · source ↗
  4. Moat Explorer calcGross margin went from 60.4% in 2025 to 79.3% in the first quarter of 2026.
    SK hynix Inc., Form 424B4 prospectus — consolidated income statements and management's discussion (SEC, CIK 2120882). FY2025: revenue W 97,147bn, cost of sales W 38,456bn, gross profit W 58,691bn, selling and administrative expenses W 5,019bn, research and development W 6,466bn, profit for the year W 42,948bn. FY2024: revenue W 66,193bn, gross profit W 31,828bn, R&D W 4,436bn, profit W 19,797bn. FY2023: revenue W 32,766bn, cost of sales W 33,299bn, a gross loss of W 533bn, an operating loss of W 7,730bn and a loss for the year of W 9,138bn, following a fall in memory prices from the third quarter of 2022. Q1 2026: revenue W 52,576bn, cost of sales W 10,897bn, gross profit W 41,679bn, R&D W 2,451bn, profit W 40,346bn. — FY2023-FY2025 and Q1 2026 · publ. 2026-07-10 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 23, 2026