✦ Financing the Energy TransitionNarrow moat

PKO Bank Polski (PKO) — the future bets

A target of more than twenty percent share of financing Poland's energy transition, on a policy PKO does not control.

PKO's 2025-2027 strategy targets a market share above 20% in financing Poland's energy transition1.

The transition targets>20%share of transitionfinancing>20%share of bankingfinancing>18%2027 returnon equity~3%referencerate assumedAll four sit in the 2025-2027 strategy and all four assume the same rate path
Every target in the plan rests on a reference rate near 3%. The transition adds a second dependency: a public programme PKO does not set.

The opportunity is unusually well defined. Poland's power system is among the most coal-dependent in Europe and has to be replaced; the capital required is enormous and largely domestic; and the borrowers are frequently large state-linked utilities of exactly the kind PKO already banks alongside seven voivodeship budgets2.

For a bank with 460 722 million złoty of deposits3 and more funding than lending, long-dated infrastructure credit is a natural use of the balance sheet — and one where the largest shareholder's policy objectives and the bank's commercial interest point the same way.

The risk is the same alignment read differently. These are twenty-year exposures whose returns depend on subsidy regimes, capacity mechanisms and carbon pricing set by the government that owns 29,43% of the lender4.

It is also the one bet here that could absorb serious capital, which makes it the one most likely to matter to the loan book's composition.

The funding for it already exists, which is the part that makes this credible rather than aspirational. PKO holds 460 722 million złoty of deposits against 315 953 million of financing5 — roughly 145 billion złoty of funding not currently lent out, in a bank looking for long-dated domestic assets.

The measure is the corporate segment's cost of risk. Group cost of risk is 0,30%6; energy-transition lending at scale is where a credit record built in retail would first be tested, and PKO does not disclose the segment split.

Moat trajectory: Widening

A stated target above 20% of the financing, in a programme that is being funded now rather than announced.

The number that tests this moat
Reported
Market share target in transition financing
Above 20%, alongside above 20% in banking financing

Both targets sit in the 2025-2027 strategy and both assume a reference rate near 3%. The transition is a public programme, so this is a bet on policy continuity as much as on lending capacity. Drawn balances, not commitments, are the number.

Source: PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025, strategy 2025-2027 ↗
References
  1. ReportedPKO's 2025-2027 strategy targets a market share above 20% in financing Poland's energy transition.
    PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025 - strategy and ecosystems (the 2025-2027 targets of a return on equity above 18% in 2027 assuming a reference rate near 3% and a market share above 20% in banking financing and in financing Poland's energy transition, the Partnership with Allegro described as the Bank's first ecosystem with Allegro Klik and Allegro Kapital, and Automarket.pl as the second with vehicle sales up 60%) — FY2025 · publ. 12 March 2026 · source ↗
  2. ReportedPoland's power system is among the most coal-dependent in Europe and has to be replaced; the capital required is enormous and largely domestic; and the borrowers are frequently large state-linked utilities of exactly the kind PKO already...
    PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025 - market position, distribution network and staff (PKO described as the largest commercial bank in Poland and the leading bank on its home market in terms of the scale of operations, with the most recognised brand among banks; 947 branches against 975, about 3 100 ATMs and 225 agencies, 26 252 employees against 25 657 and a seventh consecutive Top Employer certificate, the corporate network of 49 branches and 24 regional centres, seven voivodeship budgets, and the foreign branches and representative offices in Stockholm and Vilnius) — FY2025 · publ. 12 March 2026 · source ↗
  3. ReportedFor a bank with 460 722 million złoty of deposits and more funding than lending, long-dated infrastructure credit is a natural use of the balance sheet — and one where the largest shareholder's policy objectives and the bank's commercial...
    PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025 - the balance sheet (total assets of 583 079m złoty against 418 086m in 2021, amounts due to customers of 460 722m, financing granted to customers of 315 953m, and total equity of 58 503m) — FY2025 · publ. 12 March 2026 · source ↗
  4. ReportedThese are twenty-year exposures whose returns depend on subsidy regimes, capacity mechanisms and carbon pricing set by the government that owns 29,43% of the lender.
    PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025 - capital, shareholders and levies (the State Treasury holding 367 918 980 shares or 29,43% of the capital and votes, Nationale Nederlanden at 7,32% and Allianz Polska at 6,01%, own funds of 50 122m złoty, a total capital ratio of 17,10%, the 75% dividend payout from the 2025 profit, and the 1 349m złoty tax on certain financial institutions) — FY2025 · publ. 12 March 2026 · source ↗
  5. Moat Explorer calcPKO holds 460 722 million złoty of deposits against 315 953 million of financing — roughly 145 billion złoty of funding not currently lent out, in a bank looking for long-dated domestic assets.
    Moat Explorer calculation - arithmetic on figures PKO reports: the Swiss franc charge as a share of net profit (4 365 over 10 682), financing per employee (315 953 over 26 252 against 247 572 over 25 657), current accounts as a share of customers (9 764 over 12 460), deposits less financing (460 722 less 315 953), and the levy against fee income (1 349 over 5 243), credit losses excluding legal risk (5 859 less 4 365 = 1 494), the income mix (24 223 and 5 243 over 30 370 = 79,8% and 17,3%), net profit growth (10 682 against 9 304 = 14,8%), financing per employee (315 953 over 26 252 = 12,0m), and customers against Poland's population (12,46m of 37,33m) — FY2021-FY2025 · publ. September 2026 · source ↗
  6. ReportedGroup cost of risk is 0,30%; energy-transition lending at scale is where a credit record built in retail would first be tested, and PKO does not disclose the segment split.
    PKO Bank Polski S.A. Group Directors' Report for 2025 - the efficiency and quality ratios (return on equity of 19,5%, return on assets of 1,9%, a cost-to-income ratio of 31,1%, net interest margin of 4,76%, cost of credit risk of 0,30% and impaired exposures at 3,34% of the portfolio) — FY2025 · publ. 12 March 2026 · source ↗
Sources
Generated September 24, 2026